Who are the members of the Law Reform Commission?


        Darlene Jamieson, Q.C., President

        Professor Robert J. Currie, Vice-President

        Kevin Coady

        Brian R. Joseph

        Richard J. Melanson

       Catherine D.A. Watson


Commission Staff


        Rhoda Lemphers, Legal Research Counsel

        William H. Charles, Q.C., Special Counsel



     Darlene Jamieson, Q.C., President

Ms. Jamieson was appointed to the Commission by the Council of the Nova Scotia Barristers Society in June 2002. She has been a partner in the law firm Merrick Jamieson Sterns Washington & Mahody since 1998 with preferred areas of practice being civil litigation, including insurance, banking, construction and employment law. She has held numerous and varied posts with the Nova Scotia Barristers Society.

    Robert J. Currie, Vice President

Mr. Currie was appointed to the Commission by Order in Council in January 2010.  He is an Associate Professor at the Schulich School of Law, Dalhousie University, and Director of Dalhousie's Law & Technology Institute. He is a specialist in the area of international and transnational criminal law, and is the author of numerous books, articles and comments in that field. In 2008, Professor Currie was awarded the Dalhousie Law Students' Society and Alumni Association Award for Excellence in Teaching. He has been a member of the Nova Scotia Bar since 2000.

    Justice Kevin Coady           

Mr. Coady was appointed to the Commission by Order in Council in December 2007. Mr. Coady was called to the Nova Scotia Bar in 1981, and appointed to the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia in 2003. Prior to his judicial appointment, he practiced law in Nova Scotia with Coady Filliter and taught Criminal Law at Dalhousie University.

    Dr. Brian R. Joseph

Dr. Joseph was appointed to the Commission by Order in Council in April 2010.  He is a graduate of St. Francis Xavier University (B.Sc. and B.A. Honours) University of Toronto (M.A.) and Harvard University  (A.M.  and Ph.D).  Dr. Joseph has taught at Dalhousie, Saint Mary's, St. Francis Xavier, and Cape Breton universities.   He has served in the Nova Scotia Attorney General Department and the Privy Council Office, Government of Canada.

    Richard J. Melanson  

Mr. Melanson was appointed to the Commission by the Council of the Nova Scotia Barristers' Society in September of 2012.  He is a partner with the Halifax law firm of Blois, Nickerson & Bryson LLP. His areas of practice include administrative law, bankruptcy and insolvency, civil litigation, corporate & commercial, intellectual property and real estate. Mr. Melanson graduated from the Universite Sainte-Anne with a Bachelor of Arts (Honours) in 1981, and a Bachelor of Education (Honours) in 1983. In 1988 he graduated from Dalhousie Law School as Gold Medalist. He is a member of the Board of Examiners of Nova Scotia Social Workers' Association and chair of the Discipline Committee, and has been a member of the Agreement on Internal Trade Working Group.  He is a Director and current Treasurer of Canadian Parents for French - Nova Scotia.

    Catherine D.A. Watson  

Ms. Watson was appointed to the Commission by Order in Council in February 2015. She is a Partner in McInnes Cooper's Halifax office and leader of the firm's regional estates and trusts service group. She is a regular speaker on the subjects of estate trust and tax planning to various professional organizations and the public, and a frequent author of articles on these subjects in various newspapers and newsletters. She has been an instructor at the Ontario Bar Admissions course in the area of estate planning. Ms. Watson has been recognized by Best Lawyers in Canada and is listed in the Canadian Legal Lexpert Directory. She is the Past President and a current member of the Halifax Estate Planning Council and is a member of the Society of Trust and Estates Practitioners, the Canadian Bar Association, the Nova Scotia Barristers Society and the International Bar Association. She is Past Chair of the Wills & Estates Section of the Canadian Bar Association of Nova Scotia and is the Co-Founder and Past Chair of the Pride Business Network in Toronto, Ontario.

Staff of the Law Reform Commission

    Rhoda Lemphers
            Legal Research Counsel

Ms. Lemphers joined the Commission in April of 2017. After receiving her Bachelor of Arts, in 2013 she received her Juris Doctor degree from the University of Alberta. Ms. Lemphers was called to the Nova Scotia bar in 2016. Ms. Lemphers is also a member of the Alberta bar, and has worked with Ogilvie LLP and the City of Edmonton Law Branch.

    William H. Charles, Q.C.
Special Counsel

Professor Charles has acted as Special Counsel to the Commission since 2001.  He is a graduate of Dalhousie (where he was Dean of Law 1979-1985), Concordia, Harvard and Michigan universities. Professor Charles was the first President of the Law Reform Commission, and held that position from  1991 to 1995. He serves on a number of Boards and Councils in Nova Scotia.